Printer Friendly page
Back to full page
Penn Library homepage

Africana Librarians Council
Past and Current Chairpersons

TermALC ChairpersonAffiliation
2015-2016Charles RileyYale University
2014-2015Araba Dawson-AndohOhio University
2013-2014Marion Frank-WilsonIndiana University
2012-2013Esmeralda KaleNorthwestern University
2011-2012Timothy JohnsonNew York University
2010-2011Emilie Ngo-Nguidjol SongoloUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison
2009-2010Deborah LaFondUniversity at Albany, State University of New York
2008-2009Mattye Laverne PageLibrary of Congress
2007-2008Miki GoralUCLA
2006-2007Peter LimbMichigan State University
2005-2006Lauris OlsonUniversity of Pennsylvania
2004-2005Marieta HarperLibrary of Congress
2003-2004Gretchen S. WalshBoston University
2002-2003Alfred KaganUniversity of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
2001-2002Gregory A. FinneganHarvard University
2000-2001Jill Young CoelhoHarvard University
1999-2000Ruby Bell-GamUCLA
1998-1999Joanne ZellersLibrary of Congress
1997-1998David L. EasterbrookNorthwestern University
1996-1997Joseph CarusoColumbia University
1995-1996Helene BaumannDuke University
1994-1995Gregory A. FinneganDartmouth College / Harvard University
1993-1994Alfred KaganUniversity of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
1992-1993Nancy J. SchmidtIndiana University
1991-1992Onuma EzeraMichigan State University
1990-1991Peter MalanchukUniversity of Florida
1989-1990Phyllis B. BischofUniversity of California, Berkeley
1988-1989John Bruce HowellUniversity of Iowa
1987-1988Mary Alice KraeheUniversity of Virginia
1986-1987Gregory A. FinneganDartmouth College
1985-1986Doris M. HullHoward University
1984-1985Joseph J. LauerMichigan State University
1983-1984Gretchen S. WalshBoston University
1982-1983Maidel K. CasonNorthwestern University
1981-1982Leon P. SpencerTalladega College
1980-1981Daniel A. BritzNorthwestern University
1979-1980Elizabeth A. WidenmannColumbia University
1978-1979David L. EasterbrookSyracuse University
1977-1978Yvette H. SchevenUniversity of Illinois
1975-1977Corinne E. NyquistSUNY College at New Paltz
1971-1974R. Gordon CollierCenter for Research Libraries
1968-1970Hans E. PanofskyNorthwestern University
1968Conrad C. ReiningCatholic University of America
1966-1967Alan R. TaylorIndiana University
1965Daniel F. McCallBoston University
1964Robert D. BaumU.S. Department of State
1963-1964William A. HanceColumbia University
1962-1963Peter J. DuignanHoover Institution
1959-1961Robert D. BaumU.S. Department of State
1957-1958D. Vernon McKayJohns Hopkins University

Compiled from:

  • Recent ALC Business Meeting minutes.
  • "The Africana Librarians Council and the Cooperative Africana Microform Project since 1989" / Gregory Finnegan, in: Africanist librarianship in an era of change / edited by Victoria K. Evalds and David Henige. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2005, pages 31-47.
  • "The Archives-Libraries Committee and the Cooperative Africana Microform Project: a brief history" / David L. Easterbrook, in: Africana resources and collections: three decades of development and achievement, a festschrift in honor of Hans Panofsky / edited by Julian W. Witherell. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1989, pages 18-38.