Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Medieval Studies
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Secondary Resources: Article Databases and Bibliographies

CORE DATABASES
You will need to click on the "enter database" button to get to IMB. The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), the world's leading bibliography of Medieval Studies and an essential tool for research and teaching on the Middle Ages, covers Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. The database comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and thousands of volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs. The IMB English Online (available as a separate file) contains only bibliographic data for articles written in English. Holdings: 1967-
Medieval (400-1500) and Renaissance (1300-1700) studies.
Includes volumes 20-76 (1949-2005) of L'Annee Philologique: "a critical and analytical bibliography of Greek and Roman antiquity," including relevant material about Northern and Eastern Europe, Asia Minor, the Middle East, and North Africa. Coverage extends from the second millennium B.C.E. to late antiquity (500-800 C.E.).
The Index aims to become a reliable guide to the scholarship on women and gender during the Middles Ages, providing timely coverage, a wide range of publications indexed on a regular basis, and a thorough description of each item (in addition to the usual author, title, subjects, and source, MFI includes century, geographic area, descriptions of illustrations and tables, and primary evidence used).
Provides online access to an enhanced version of the Archaologische Bibliographie (aktualisierte Version des Realkatalogs) 1956-Jan 2008, which indexes holdings of the German Archaeological Institute, the Ecole Francaise de Rome, of the British School at Rome, the American Academy in Rome and of the Escuela Espanola de Historia y Arqueologia en Roma. The project also provides access to subject catalogs and inventories such as the Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance.
"An extensive bibliography of primary and secondary sources often annotated. Classed arrangement, with indexes of authors and manuscripts. Includes citations to critical reviews." (Guide to Reference Books) 1978-.
Van Pelt Library Medieval Studies (Rm 405, non-circulating): D111 .M544
Provides coverage of primary and secondary resources relating to the period of the middle ages following the period covered by Medioevo Latino.
Van Pelt Library: PA8001 .B535
"Lists books and articles in all areas...of study on the 15th and 16th century in Europe." (Guide to Reference Books)
Van Pelt Library: CB359 .B425

RELATED DATABASES
Covers all religious traditions; strongest coverage is for materials dealing with the Judeo-Christian tradition. While about half of the material included is in English, ATLA Religion also includes materials published in most European languages with extensive coverage of publications in German, French, Italian, and Spanish. 1949 to the present. Updated two times a year.
Berlin: De Gruyter, 1956-1990.
Van Pelt Library: Z7791 .B5

Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

Covers European and American art from the fourth century to the present. Areas addressed are painting, sculpture, drawings, prints, decorative and applied arts, architecture and industrial design, and popular and folk art. Abstracts in English or French. 1973 to the present. Updated quarterly.
International bibliography on the history of science and technology from pre-history to the present, describing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Most citations are in English. Also covers French, German, Italian, and Spanish. 1975 to the present. Updated annually.
Bibliographic citations with subject indexing on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world in general, including Muslims in Africa and Asia and major Muslim minorities worldwide. Topics covered include: education, law, bibliography and scholarship, libraries, philosophy, natural and applied sciences, arts, architecture, geography and travel, social sciences, archaeology, history, economics, politics and current affairs, as well as religion and theology. 1906-present.
Includes 200,000 entries, 1986-.
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages. Covers 1963 to the present. New records are added ten times a year.
Indexes articles in the humanities and social sciences. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and philosophy of mind as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education.
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies and the study of the Land of Israel (Erets Israel), arranged by subject. The material is compiled from thousands of periodical and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish and European Languages, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library (JNUL). Journals and new publications indexed cover the following subjuect areas: Booklore and Bibliography, Bible, post-Biblical literature and Early Christianity, Rabbinic Literature and and the Jewish Law, Philosophy and Religion, Litergy and the Jewish Annual Cycle, Literature, Language, Jewish History in the Diaspora, the Land of Israel, and the Cultural Life of the Jewish People. Includes author and subject indices.
Louvain : Abbaye de Mont Cesar, 1929-1996.
Call#: Van Pelt Library BX800.A1 R4
Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as librarianship, literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included. 1969 to the present. Updated monthly.
Berkeley, University of California Press, 1969.
"An annotated listing of 283 serial publications...useful to the research worker in medieval studies."-Guide to Reference Books
Van Pelt Library: Z6203 .R66
*