Department of Special Collections
William Penn Keffer Collection of Sheet Music,
ca. 1790-1895

Content and design by John Bewley

Guide to Searching the Collection

The collection was cataloged in the RLIN database in 1994-1995. There is a collection-level record for the collection as a whole and individual records for every item in the collection. These records are also available on Penn's local online catalog, Franklin, available on the World-Wide-Web.

The cataloging of the collection includes expanded access for added entries such as names of stated performers, engravers, lithographers, illustrators, and dedicatees. Song texts are indexed by first lines and the first lines of refrains or choruses. Subject access includes headings for subjects of illustrations or music, such as portraits of Lincoln or music about Lafayette.

Connecting to Franklin from the links on this page will open a new page in your browser. It is then possible to switch back and forth between the two windows. A search string can be copied from a table using the Copy function from the Edit menu in the current window. Then open the Franklin window, click on the Keyword text box, and use the Paste function from the Edit menu to enter the search string from the table.

All of the searches are designed to be done after selecting Keyword as the search option from the initial menu for the catalog. Quotation marks must be included in the searches where stated to insure that the statements will be search ed as complete phrases. The terms AND, NOT, and OR must be entered in capital letters./

The following lists offer only a handful of the many searches that are possible.

Select the "Catalog" tab to perform basic Searches in Franklin

To retrieve a list of: Enter this text:
All items in the collection "keffer collection of sheet music"
Select "Keyword Expert" and enter this text:
Items by date
(e.g., items published in the 1840s)
"keffer collection of sheet music" AND pubdate:[1840 TO 1849]

Name Searches in Franklin

To retrieve a list of: Select "Keyword Expert" and enter this text:
Works by a specific composer:
(e.g., for works by Benjamin Carr)
"keffer collection of sheet music" AND author:("Benjamin Carr")
Illustrations by a lithographer
(e.g., illustrations by Napoleon Sarony)
"keffer collection of sheet music" AND author:("Napoleon Sarony")

Searching for Illustrations in Franklin

To retrieve a list of: Enter this text:
All items with illustrations "keffer collection of sheet music" AND "ill."
Select "Keyword Expert" and enter this text:
All items from the 1860s with illustrations "keffer collection of sheet music" AND "ill." AND pubdate:[1860 TO 1869]
To retrieve a list of: Enter this text:
All items with color illustrations "keffer collection of sheet music" AND "col. ill."
All items with portraits "keffer collection of sheet music" AND portraits
Portraits of specific figures
(e.g., portraits of Jenny Lind)
"keffer collection of sheet music" AND portraits AND lind
Items with views of locations "keffer collection of sheet music" AND views

Searching for Publishing information in Franklin

To retrieve a list of: Select "Keyword Expert" and enter this text:
Items published in Philadelphia "keffer collection of sheet music" AND pubplace:(Philadelphia)
Items published by a specific publisher
(e.g., items published by John Aitken)
"keffer collection of sheet music" AND publisher:("John Aitken")

Subject Searching in Franklin

To retrieve a list of: Enter this text:
Items about the Civil War "keffer collection of sheet music" AND "civil war"
Items about the Civil War with illustrations "keffer collection of sheet music" AND "civil war" AND "ill."
Items about the Confederacy "keffer collection of sheet music" AND confederate

Searching by Genre in Franklin

To retrieve a list of: Enter this text:
Patriotic music "keffer collection of sheet music" AND "patriotic music"
Galops "keffer collection of sheet music" AND galops
Music about various subjects "keffer collection of sheet music" AND "songs and music"
Music about specific subjects
(e.g., Music about Lafayette)
"keffer collection of sheet music" AND "songs and music" AND lafayette

Searching for References in Franklin

To retrieve a list of: Enter this text:
Items indexed in Sonneck (1790-1800) "keffer collection of sheet music" AND sonneck
Items indexed in Wolfe (1800-1825) "keffer collection of sheet music" AND wolfe AND secular
Items indexed in Crandall (Confederate imprints) "keffer collection of sheet music" AND crandall
Table of Contents

Send mail concerning this page to: rbml@pobox.upenn.edu