Access and Visitor Information for the Pennsylvania Hospital Medical Library at 800 Spruce Street
Address and Contact Information
800 Spruce Street Philadelphia, PA 19107
The Pennsylvania Hospital Medical Library has two collections: the historic collection and the contemporary collection. The contemporary collection includes the modern book collection of the Institute of the Pennsylvania Hospital; manuscripts and rare books are part of the historic collections.
For Pennsylvania Hospital Staff and Students, Faculty, and Staff of the University of Pennsylvania
The contemporary collection’s reading rooms on the third floor of the Pine Building are available at any time to Pennsylvania Hospital staff via card access.
University of Pennsylvania affiliates who are not Pennsylvania Hospital staff should contact Michelle Bass to make an appointment if they wish to use the reading rooms and/or materials from the contemporary collection. They will also have to complete a Penn Open Pass and register at the hospital front desk at 800 Spruce Street as a visitor. See the Pennsylvania Hospital visitor guidelines for more information.
Students, faculty, and staff can also request items from the contemporary collection be delivered to the library location of their choosing in Franklin. Please note that delivery may take longer than other inter-Penn Libraries requests.
Anyone interested in using materials from the historic collection must contact Stacey Peeples.
For All Other Visitors
Our contemporary library collection and the reading rooms are not open to the public. The historic collection is available for research purposes and tours. For more information, see Historic Tours of the Pennsylvania Hospital.